Coca-Cola Africa expands its East Africa region with 7 more countries  

By David Indeje / July 14, 2017

Coca-Cola Africa has expanded its East African region with 7 additional countries in its latest reorganization of the 18 Southern and East Africa countries.

Swaziland and Lesotho will be part of South Africa’s operations while Botswana, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Malawi, Namibia, St Helena  and Angola become part of the East Africa block of markets which include Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda, Ethiopia, Mozambique, Djibouti, Somalia, Somaliland and Eritrea.

Read: Coca-Cola Beverages Africa acquires Equator Bottlers

Coca-Cola Africa will now comprise two regions, Southern Africa and East and Central Africa effective 1, August.

Ahmed Rady, currently East Africa General Manager will lead the expanded region which includes additional markets from Central Africa.

Newly appointed South Africa General Manager Roger Gauntlett will continue in his role looking after operations in South Africa, Lesotho and Swaziland.

Coca-Cola Africa President Kelvin Balogun says, “In line with our strategic priority to drive accelerated growth and evolve into a total beverage company, we have been working to streamline our company structure to allow for speed, agility and role clarity. One of the imperatives coming from this is the creation of larger empowered regional operations that are aligned with our bottling partner Coca-Cola Beverages Africa territories.”

About David Indeje

David Indeje is a writer and editor, with interests on how technology is changing journalism, government and society. He has been practicing Journalism since 2008. Environment, Agriculture Business, Health and Gender Development stories are his passion. David can be reached on: (020) 528 0222 or Email: [email protected]

View other posts by David Indeje